Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Need some advice on a possible 99 Forester Purchase

Hello all, 

Here's the story: I'm looking to buy my wife a new(er) subaru. Right now she's driving around my 87 GL, which is a pretty solid little car, but truth be told, I wish I was driving it :). So I came across this Forester on craigslist http://bozeman.craigslist.org/cto/3946313491.html and am intrigued. I am a fairly capable mechanic, and have done a couple transmission swaps before, but I don't have a transmission jack anymore. 

Do you guys think it's worth offering around $1000 and putting a new transmission? I am more familiar with the older gens and am not to0 informed about quirks of the newer gen models. Is this transmission known to fail in a certain way? Also, if my research is correct, this car has a SOHC? Which I'm told is preferred to the DOHC 2.5s. 

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks!

Edited by ystrdyisgone

Not a bad deal, nothing too special about those transmissions. You'll find it quite similar to the ones in your older soobs.

Some known issues with the 99s. They changed the way the center differential is built in 99 and there is a snap ring that can come loose and chew up the transfer gears and center diff support gears. It also lets the center diff fall apart.

The mainshaft bearings like to go out on the EJ transmissions in general. Lack of fluid changes I think is the general reason, but its also a large bearing which doesn't seem to get enough oil all the time. It's fairly easily replaceable but is labor intensive. Much easier to find a good low mile trans and just drop it in.

I'd go for it.

Yes that car has the SOHC heads which are much simpler. Also the bottom end was beefed up in 99. The head gaskets are prone to leak, but its an external leak rather than the combustion chamber leaks that the DOHC engines suffered.

Find out if the timing belt has ever been replaced. That's a bargaining chip because its a couple $$$ in parts.