Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting on this forum, but I need some advice. 

I own a 1995 impreza 2.2L sedan (it might be LX im not sure) and it needs some work. Basically I'm wondering if you all think it is worth it.

Problems:

1. Catalytic converter needs replacing

2. brake pads and rotors need replacing

3. needs new door and window seals

4. Probably needs suspension work, that is yet to be seen

5. Needs paint

My car has 104,000 miles and I like to use it around town but also for biking and camping trips as well as visiting friends from college several hours away. 

The interior is in pretty excellent shape and the four wheel drive system works well and has performed well in the snow. I recently had to replace an oil pressure valve. 

Is it worth it to spend a few thousand dollars restoring the car or am I better off buying a newer one?  (about 10 grand from 2006 70,000 miles) What problems can I expect 

to pop up with continued driving? What preventative measures should I take to ensure a long life if I decide to keep the car?

Thank you!!

at 104K it will need the timing belt & related components replaced asap if they havent already been done

what condition is the body in? I see you are in Illinois, so probably got some rust issues?

the 95 2.2 is a great motor, if properly cared for, and can go over 200K easily - my 95 Legacy is at 214K now and going strong.

a failed cat converter at that mileage is kind of suspect, tho - why has it failed?

Even if you had to do all the things on the your list, your still looking at hundreds of dollars and not $10k for a 2006 car (that could still need work now, or in the near future!).

I would fix it up.  If you have a few tools, you can do most of that work yourself.  Youtube videos, online descriptions and info posted here (and other forums) provide enough info for you to make these repairs.