Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I am new to this forum however, I am not new to Subaru ownership. I have owned over the past 10 years of driving 6 Subarus for either myself or my family. Currently on my 1997 SUbaru Outback wagon I am experiencing a shaking crankshaft pulley. Last week I was driving and all the warning lights on the dash lit up, my belt had fallen off so I drove to the nearest mechanic and he installed a new belt. Now a couple of days later I was just checking my tranny oil and noticed that the crankshaft pulley shakes ALOT. To the point that when the care is idling it feels rough. But when I reved up the engine I noticed that the shaking lessens or goes away. Now I am not a mechanic by any means so excuse me for my ignorance, but can anyone direct me on what the issue could be here?

I took it to my local mechanic whom I do trust but I doubt his ability to work on subarus, but this has never been an issue before because aside from regular maintenance I never needed a "Subaru know it all Mechanic". He told me that I need a new pulley, of course this seems to be the obvious answer but I am perplexed on why my pulley would shake to begin with? I did have this mechanic change my timing belt 5 months ago so I am assuming that he had to take this pulley off to get to the timing belt.

So my question is could he have wrecklessly done something wrong in reinstalling the pulley? It just makes no sense to me how a pulley can need replacement or would start shaking out of the blue? I am contemplating taking it into a Subaru dealership however this car has over 165K miles on it and I do not want to be bothered with a huge bill. But any suggestions from you professional folks would be appreciated. For instance if I buy the pulley can I just have my mechanic install it? Is there some special Subaru knowledge or trick that he needs to know before installing it?

<<So my question is could he have wrecklessly done something wrong in reinstalling the pulley?>>