Ultimate Subaru Message Board

what kind of motor fits a 1992 Legacy?

Hi,

I'm a new member, but long-time Subaru owner. I'm very happy with the cars and the WRC representation :) I'm also new to cars and engines, so if I make

silly mistakes or use the wrong terms, please correct me, and explain to me clearly so I can understand and a learn a thing or two.

I bought a new 1992 Legacy from Northeast Subaru (I think it was called this) in Pennsylvania. NEVER service anything there! Below I'll tell you my tale.

I had it serviced for timing belt in 1998 because I was moving to Athens Greece. They did a terrible job at it, leaving the crank-pulley assembly un-tightened. In around 5 years the car started behaving strangely. Under-powered at first, then non-responsive in lower gears. Took more than 10 seconds to get going, as if it was starving for fuel.

Finally I had the official Subaru service in Athens check it out and we saw with amazement that the crank-shaft end was "eaten" away by the wedge that holds the crank-pulley assembly.

They temporarily patched it with a make-shift wedge and a new crank-pulley but the real fix is to replace the motor or the crank-shaft. The second being too expensive, the first option is the one that remains.

What I really want to ask all the experts here in the forum, is for any good solutions, and this:

what kind of motor can I put in this 1992 Legacy?

The current motor is a 2.2L with 150,000 and no other damage. I have found some used/refurbished motors but some are the Turbo models.

Does anyone know if the Turbo models will fit right in there, or is it something that shouldn't be done?

I was told by the Subaru service: NO.

But I know this car came in a 2.2L Turbo edition as well! So what gives?

How about the 2.5L motors?

I have also seen some 2.0L motors (many from Impreza/WRX cars), but I do know know if they fit, and also if it's a good idea, because this car weights 1.7 tons!