Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Which Gen3 parts fit a Gen2?

I have the opportunity to pick parts from a 93 Loyale that an acquaintance bought for parts to fix up his 88 wagon. Which parts will fit my 84 BRAT or 83 GL wagon? I'm thinking for either upgrades or spares. I have no experience whatsoever with gen3 cars, so I don't know at all what will work.

I'll start a list and edit this post to add to it as I figure parts out. I'm starting with 2 categories: "Direct Fit" and "Modification Necessary." 

Direct Fit:

• Front hubs
  • Wheels
  • Rear brake assembly as a whole. 
  • Flywheel

• Seats
  • Exhaust Y-Pipe
  • Fuel Pump
  • Fuses
  • Globes

Modification Necessary:

• Engine
  • Transmission
  • Spindle assembly minus axle and strut (have to use ea82 wheels after that since brakes are slightly bigger)

• Fuel injection system

Direct fit means it just bolts up and works. It doesn't have to be the EXACT same part, per se, but it should require no modifications. Modification Necessary means just that. Something will have to be modified for the part to work. I'll list the modification if it is simple enough, otherwise, searching and reading will be required. Obviously anything is possible with enough time, skills, and money, so I'm going to try to keep the list reasonable. Any mods that require major surgery to the chassis, or are not already well-documented on the forum will not be included.

If you think I've listed something wrongly, please let me know! I don't know much about this, which is why I asked the question in the first place. I'm just compiling it!

Edited by jmoss5723

If this list becomes comprehensive enough, maybe it should be stickied somewhere. Seems like it could be a useful tool for people trying to get parts at a junkyard or through the member classifieds, right?

I guess we'll see if it takes off first.

think I answered same question here last few days... I have an 84 ute running everything from and including radiator to rear diff