Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Rear speaker out, need help or suggestions!

Hi all, I own a 2003 outback VDC sedan with the Mcintosh stereo system. I had no idea until my sister told me that my rear speaker didn't work. This is not one of the speakers on the rear doors, but near the rear window behind the back seat headrests. Anyways, I dropped my ru to the dealer this past weekend, and the service advisor told me there was nothing wrong. I told the guy exactly which speaker was out, but either the guy missed it or was tone deaf. Unfortunately I did not have the service guy in the car with me so maybe that's why he missed it, and my fault for just dropping off.

Anyways, I'm a total newbie when it comes to stereos and speakers. Are there any suggestions what may be wrong? I checked the connections by popping open my trunk, and they seem good. Solder points also seem good. Can anyone advise me how to remove the interior panels to get to my speaker? If I attempt this, will I void any speaker warranties? Was just hoping I could fix myself instead of bringing back to the dealer.

Thanks!

STOP! Especially if the car is under warrenty

take the service advisor to the car.. and SHOW him. It may not be the speaker, as it may be the radio. im not sure how its wired, and check all the operations of the radio and settings to make sure its not an improper setting. Some car steros you need a PHD in Engineering to operate it, so it may just be a setting. Usually speakes buzz and make weird noises, dont just usually die.

nipper

STOP! Especially if the car is under warrenty

take the service advisor to the car.. and SHOW him. It may not be the speaker, as it may be the radio. im not sure how its wired, and check all the operations of the radio and settings to make sure its not an improper setting. Some car steros you need a PHD in Engineering to operate it, so it may just be a setting. Usually speakes buzz and make weird noises, dont just usually die.

nipper