Ultimate Subaru Message Board

'91 Loyale Fuel Economy

I just bought a '91 Loyale a few months ago. I am not familiar with "normal" loyale MPG, but I think mine is really low at about 17/gal highway and 15/gal in city. I am trying to think why this is. I am not good with cars, but I am trying - really. I was going to replace the fuel filter, but I am wondering if that will really make a difference. Another bit of information that might help is that this car is from Alaska and is now living in Fairbanks, AK, where the temperatures sometimes dip down to -40 F. Could this cold weather be killing my fuel economy, even with extended highway miles? Any information would be much apperciated.

Hello fellow AK subaru owner. I also have a Loyale, 1990 3sp auto and I'm getting around the same MPG. I think mines so sh*ty is because of my disty and I might have a cloged cat. One more thing, I start to get a little heavy on the gas when it starts to snow. I tend to take turns sidways a lot.

I just bought a '92 Loyale a few months ago. I am not familiar with "normal" loyale MPG, but I think mine is really low at about 17/gal highway and 15/gal in city. I am trying to think why this is. I am not good with cars, but I am trying - really. I was going to replace the fuel filter, but I am wondering if that will really make a difference. Another bit of information that might help is that this car is from Alaska and is now living in Fairbanks, AK, where the temperatures sometimes dip down to -40 F. Could this cold weather be killing my fuel economy, even with extended highway miles? Any information would be much apperciated.