Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA82T: Long Block Solutions

Ive decided that I need to quit staring at my XT-T and fix the dam thing. My current engine, which leaks coolant badly (cracked head is my guess, water pours out the tailpipe) is in poor condition. This current block has overheated 3 times, and now im sure it is done, well, the shortblock might be okay, not sure though.

Anyways, what im trying to say, is there any thing that i could do for cheap, such as use a carb long/short block and put the turbo components on it. I talked with my subaru enlightened friend and he thinks it would be better to part the car out. It probably would be, but its in still good condition and if there is a cheap solution, I would love to get it running again. My only memory is the video in the pit at WCSS6 :) .

What are the collective thoughts of the USMB on this subject, anyone with a good turbo engine? Or does the carb engine swap over. Im new at this subject but I know WJM has used the carb block before with a turbo.

-Jay

Disclaimer: Not an expert, but I am good at regurgitating information.

The carb short block can work, according to reports. It lacks a top of block breather that "T" has, and it is higher compression... mixed bag there. The heads are different and will not fit the turbo manifolds. Ditto with everything except MPFI heads, and they may have troubles with not having proper coolant/oil fittings for turbo.

So, anything other than an MPFI block won't do you much good if your heads are fried. And the MPFI might still be unworkable.

How much is "too much" to spend? A JDM can be had for $700-800 last time I priced (awhile ago...), JY engines can be had for around $100. There is one near me where the car died due to crash RF corner... pretty sure engine is still OK (but yard man is giving me troubles :-\ ).