Ultimate Subaru Message Board

97 ej22 into 99 forester

Subruise

I have, in my driveway, a 99 forester S auto with the glittery oil. Ive already pulled the motor, and purchased a nice little 97 ej22 from a turbo swap project. 

As I said the Forester is an auto, but I haven't mentioned that the new engine is from a manual car and has an egr block off plate installed.

Are the intakes interchangeable? I dont think they are but this is my first time hands-on and im not tearing things down any farther than i have to.

Ive read a few threads and they said to swap throttle bodies/drivers side cam sprocket/crank sprocket. I believe the wiring needs to come over as well as splicing or modifying injector plugs. 

Id like some advice as to how its been done, what not to do, and how to keep cold idle and no CEL if possible.

thanks as always

this is not an easy swap.

and it will never be a CEL-free swap,

unless you swap the wiring harness and ECU.

just like a turbo swap.

auto vs. manual is way secondary to the phase 1 - 2 issue.

the 99 ej25 SOHC in the forester is a phase 2 engine.

the 97 ej22 is a phase 1 engine.

you can swap it and make it work,

but you will never get rid of the CEL.

so if you ever want ot resell the car,

or if you have to pass an inspection in your state,

do not swap.

details are available if needed.

Edited by johnceggleston