Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Unhooking heated windshield?

Hi all!

Just looking for some thoughts. I am an auto glass pro in Central PA. Currently on my 5th sube and am pretty familiar with subes. (in part thanks to this board!) Have one that has me scratching my head though.

We have a customer that has a 96 Outback with the cold weather package which includes the heated windshield. Customer didn't know the windshield was heated as he was not the original owner and as you may know, the early design of the heated w/s makes them hard to see the heating elements at the base of the windshield. As I was removing the w/s moldings and the cowl cover, I saw the wires for the windshield. We contacted the customer to let him know that the heated windshield was going to cost him about $200.00 more for the heated windshield. (no comp on his insurance) He understands but he just wants us to install the non-heated windshield. Now, does anyone know what type of repercussions this may have if we simply unplug it and leave the electrical system intact without anything hooked up to it? Is it possible the system might go haywire/fry if it is activated and there is nothing there? Don't want to screw the guy over but we also don't want to be liable.

Our concern goes back to the old (late 80's) Ford heated windshields. They were known as "Insta-Clear". Due to countless problems, Ford discontinued this design and the heated windshield is not even available any more. BUT, before we can install the non-heated w/s, the customer must bring us a receipt showing that the ENTIRE electrical system for the windshield has be disabled/removed by a Ford authorized garage. There were cases of vehicles burning to a crisp which is why Ford put out the TSB with explicit instructions relating to the disable. http://www.glasslinks.com/tips/htd1.htm (this is an early TSB before the big problems started)