Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Electric cooling fan

I've been running just an electric fan now for several years. This is on a stock single row radiator, stock electric fan, EA82 SPFI. I dont even have to turn it on unless I'm moving under 30 mph or at a complete stop.

You could also run dual electric fans for superior cooling.

Did you have to rewire the stock fan? Thermostat or a switch on the dash?

Yeah I hard wired it. My thermosensor was broken. Originaly I had a switch in the cabin, controling a 15 AMP relay under the bonnet which controled the fan itself. Since I have just wired up the fan directly to the switch. Not the best idea but switches are cheap and easy to replace :) Relay makes a more safe circut and is recommended.

The electric fan is actually the stock one and the mechanical one was added to the A/C cars. If you don’t have A/C you should be fine with one (or two) of the stock type electric ones. If you do have A/C (and use it) I’d stick with the mechanical one, or if you do want to go with twin electric get a high flow aftermarket one, I don’t think the stock electric one can pull near the air that the mechanical does, just look at the size and pitch of its blades.

The amount of power saved buy switching from a mechanical fan to an electric is a bit of a myth, if the mechanical clutch fan is functioning properly it only pulls when the rad is hot and needs it. The electric fan requires power too, and its power is subject to two electo-mechanical conversion (alternator and fan motor), both of which have about a 70% conversion efficacy, so the electric one requires about 50% more input power for the same output.

Gary

• 2 weeks later...

So ... does anyone have any recommendations pro/warnings con for a high flow after market OEM electric radiator fan?