Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Buying 1991 XT6 Manual, Need to know things to look for!

Hi, this is my 1st post here, im a mild mechanic and i currently own a nicely modifyed 1990 Mazda rx-7 and im looking for something AWD thats cheap, 1st thing comes to mind is XT6, well i found a really really beat up one but its all stuff i can fix easy sence i have a welder and a 35 gallon air compressor, and i need to know certant things to be aware of when buying, they are asking $1,100 OBO and im thinking its worth about $800, i just need some help on what to look for PLEASE.

I dont mean to make anyone mad, but i do need some answers/links soon i looked a little and i wasnt able to find what i wanted, i just need to know commin things that go out on thies cars that i should be aware of.

air suspension shot, electric power steering broke, with all subarus, the radiator must be in good condition, or it will blow up very soon. check the mileage on the timing belts/tensioner pullies. torn cv boots, or clicking ones. other than that,they should be jsut as tough as any subaru, wich is very tough! way more tough than ford tough!_!

How do i know for sure if the engine is shot? If it smokes like crazy, and btw, how do i know if the rads bad, and im almost sure the air suspension is bad because one side seams to sit higher. could be cause part of the car is sitting in a hole.

Heh, ill prolly take the power steering out anyway.... if the car will still manage to turn.

Btw, the parts for this car amaze me, 3x cheaper then parts for my rx-7 air suspension right here $46 a strut http://www2.allsubparts.com/parts/parts1/allsubparts/wizard.jsp?year=1991&make=SU&model=XT6-4WD-001&category=L&&part=Shock+Absorber

Thanks for all the help man, Im prolly going to get it, nothing worries me unless i have to break into the engine, suspension, transmission, rearend and stuff dont bother me. And if he said it runs great i seriously doubt it has a bad rad (heh).