Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Blown 85 Subaru GL Wagon Engine

First of all hello everybody I am new to this forum. I recently inherited an 85 subaru GL Wagon from my grandma. The nice thing is. It has been garage kept and has like 52,000 miles on it. The interior is in excellent shape. Its only been driven for the most part around her small town. It has tons of dings on the roof and hood where the car was caught in a hail storm. It also the passenger side corner is crunched somewhat. Otherwise the thing ran great. you see I let my friend borrow the car. He decided for giggles to try racing a BMW M5...obviously he lost but he alos over heated the engine so bad that after I take the spark plugs out it blows water out when I turn the engine over. Nice huh...

So now I have to figure out what to do with the car. Junk it...or try and fix it. I'd like to keep it because I clean windows for a living and would like to have it to put ladders on. Any opinions? How much do you think it would cost to fix?

Welcome to the board. Sorry about your car. Maybe you should get your "friend" to cough up for some repair work.

Anyway, it shouldn't be terribly difficult or expensive to fix. Being an 85, it is most likely a carbed engine. That being the case, you can simply go to your local wrecking yard and get another engine. Doing an engine swap isn't real hard in these cars. And if you feel like turning your own wrenches, you may be able to simple get a set of heads and head gaskets and not replace the whole engine.

Definitely worth keeping if you can do your own work. If you don't feel comfortable with that, look around on the board and you're likely to find someone on here that is close to you. Just ask, there's lots of people here who are willing to help out.