Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Still learning to love my 1996 2.5l.

Two weekends ago, I had a blown top rad hose. I replaced it and topped up the coolant, figuring that it was just wear and tear. Since then everything seemed ok.

Yesterday, I drove 40 minutes into the hills north of here to arrive at my destination overheating with steam pouring out of the engine compartment.

The coolant reservoir was overfull (compared to normal) and there was no obviously damaged hose (though it was too dark to see well). There was fluid splashed back over the underside of the engine that may have originated from the overflow.

So I got the car towed home to work on and noticed that there was now a vacuum in the cooling system (collapsing hose) and no fluid in the reservoir.

I topped the rad up and it now seems to be holding fluid and maintaining temperature judging from test-driving around town.

I am going to drop it off at my mechanic tomorrow -- I have little time for and less experience with DIY car repair than most.

I am concerned that a small head gasket leak that only shows up with relatively hard driving (like last night's highway + hills).

Any other clues I should look for?

Randomizer.

PLEASE stop a second and consider that the rad cap should allow suction back from the overflow tank. It may be bad(or the overflow hose is clogged) and would be just about the easiest DIY fix in the world!

Of course, this doesn't mean there aren't other problems, and I suppose it depends on which hose is collapsed but at least consider it before going to the shop.

Carl

1 Lucky Texan

Originally posted by 1 Lucky Texan

PLEASE stop a second and consider that the rad cap should allow suction back from the overflow tank....

... and I suppose it depends on which hose is collapsed but at least consider it before going to the shop...

The hose that was sucked in was the top passenger side rad hose.