Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Some noobie questions

As some of you know I bought that 73 gl race car...the one that was on ebay.

I am very new to these vintage subarus and would like to find out some info about the cars of that area.

Now my car has the 1.3 liter with a 5 speed manual trans. The oe engine and trans was 1.4l and 4 speed manual trans. I assume the cases for the trans' are identical or at least the bellhousing/shifter linkage/driveshaft outputs/ etc... are the same. Do the 4 speed and 5 speed use the same differential? Was the OE differential a limited slip or a standard 1 drive wheel dif?

It appears that the axle shaft on the drivers side is smaller in diameter than the one on the passenger side. Is this the case? Can you use axle shafts from other models on my car?

Is there still a good reliable source for oe equivelant parts like brake kits, engine gaskets, trans gears, boots, seals, bearings etc... I have checked on ebay and found a few things. I know brakes are still available.

Has anyone put say an EA82 in these cars? I assume you would need a modified engine cradle but has it been done with that or some other motor?

The 1.3 and 1.4 use the same block and heads with just a larger bore, right? I was betting the 1.6 was all different with longer stroke and larger bore. Am I right?

I think that is enough for this thread lol I will start another one for fluids.

Thank you for you help with this info:)

I'll answer at least some of your questions later.I'm sorry,but I know I don't have the time right now.

Later on I'll break out the factory parts manual and clue you in on what should be what.

Meanwhile,maybe someone else will help out too.

Just saw that you've got many questions and I know you want to get some answers soon.Talk to you later.

Paul

I'll give a few of these a shot.

The differential in both transmissions are open diffs but the final drive ration is different between the two.