Ultimate Subaru Message Board

After reading up some on wheel bearings, I think my problem is a wheel bearing. After my move to Buffalo (~2hrs at highway speeds), I pulled into the parking lot to notice a horrid sound coming from my wheel, no matter which direction the wheel was turned. (Like a loud screeching/scratching) I have a couple questions:

Could the new axle (I just installed) cause a 120K wheel bearing to go, since the new axle is tighter??

Should I (the shop) really replace both front wheel bearings?? -I am a broke college student that just moved w/ no tools or space, but everyone (on the boards) seem to say replace both.

not sure that a wheel bearing is your problem. When a wheel bearing goes bad, it starts making an rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr sound, that is louder and more pronounced when making a sweeping turn in one direction. Usually driving in a straight direction, it is not very loud at all. Suspect that your problem may be more related to a CV joint giving you trouble, even though you just installed a new one.

Does the noise go away for a while once the car has been turned off for several hours, and everything has had a chance to cool down? If so, another reason to suspect a bad CV joint.

If a bad wheel bearing, I never replace both at the same time. One going bad is not a good reason to suspect the other is going bad. Prolly a good idea to jack up the corner that the noise is coming from. Once the road wheel is off the ground, pull on the road wheel to see if you can feel any "looseness" that a bad wheel bearing or suspension part would allow.

Good luck on finding a problem with a cheap fix.

Id try shaking the wheel by hand to feel forany looseness. Then lift front off the ground and see if wheels spin fairly smoothly.

Damage to bearing may have occurred with new axle if axle nut was loosened with weight ont the wheel or wheel was on ground ebfore new axle nut was torqued.