Ultimate Subaru Message Board

oil leak.....

I'm a newb in the world of Subaru, I recently bought a '85 Subaru turbo wagon. It has 65,000 original miles, and it is very nice inside and out. The previous owner had bought it from an estate and said he had rebuilt the head on cylinders 1 and 3 as they had little/no compression,and he replaced the timing  belt as well as well as other "stuff" . So this little car runs like a top,handles well, and seems to be a great daily driver, BUT! ( and there is always a but, isn't there?!?) . I noticed about a week ago the distinct smell of burning oil, I looked underneath and I could see fresh oil on the cross member, and when I popped the hood the smell of the burning oil was from fresh oil that had spilled onto the exhaust manifold. 

I took the car to a trusted mechanic, and the first thing he said was " a mechanic could make quite a living fixing oil leaks on Subarus" . He looked it over and said other than the recent oil the engine looked clean and  tight, and thought the oil may have been residue from the previous mechanics handy work.

All that said, I suspect the oil is not from older work, but is an actual oil leak and I have no experience as to how to track it down. So, can I get some advice as to where to look ( or how to look) for oil leaks?  As a post script, I did wipe down the crossmember last night, it did have fresh oil on it, and the cardboard i laid out under the engine did have fresh  oil stains on it in  the  morning. Thanks for any and all advice folks!