Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Phase 1 Ej22 in to 2000 Forester (Ej20) Help

Hey guys i'm relatively new to subaru's so i don't know much about them at the moment so i was wondering if you guys could enlighten me on a few details.

And yes i have searched through the forums and google but i can't seem to find much info on anyone swapping from a ej20 to a phase 1 ej22. Everywhere i could find was about people swapping out a ej25 to 22.

I was wondering what i would need to replace/ modify to get the ej22 into the 2000 forester(manual)  

I am using the ej22 as it was the engine in my last car which i still have but with a blown head gasket and 350 thousand km's (doesn't blow smoke just compression gasses going into the cooling system atm) and I want to pull the engine out of the car and replace the head gasket with a thinner one, pulley's with light weight ones, maybe a lightweight flywheel. Maybe even cams, Pistons and conrods depending if i can get the money when i start putting the engine back together 

By the way the ej22 is out of my 1991 FWD Liberty LX (auto) or Legacy everywhere else 

P.S I apologise for the somewhat disjointed post as it's quite late for me in sydney 

Since I am not familiar with the FI setup on your AUSDM I can't say for sure.....

But ussualy the big issues going from Phase II back to Phase I is the IAC.

Phase II use stepper motor multiple stage.......Phase I are simple push/pull coils......

When I do Phase I into Phase II cars this is the recipe

Phase I engine/heads.

Phase I 2.2 intake.......But modified to work in the Phase II car........with the wiring harness from the Phase II merged onto it (may require splicing Injector tails), and Phase II throttle body......possibly with a plate fashioned to sit between it and manifold to block off the open IAC port on Phase II TB.

And likely need to block off the Phase I IAC......