Ultimate Subaru Message Board

In need of engine rebild, LOTS of Q's

subynut

Me Suby is buring MAJOR oil! Like, 3/4 of a qt per fillup. Me thinks it's time to tear down the engine and do a rebuild. 204k miles, and with my kind of driving, it don't surprise me. :-/ I've never done somthing like this before. So, I have many Q's.

What's all involved?

How much time, on avarage, does this project take?

Also, what kind of part swaps can I do to get more power out of her? I think I read (long time ago) somthing about putting 1600 pistons in to boost the C.R.

And somthing about using the heads from a spfi ea82, cause they have better airflow or cam overlap, or somthin. (I do know I'll hafta swap the disty cause they're differant)

Is this so? Any other low-buck performance upgrades while I'm in there?

I'm looking to boost the low to mid rpm torque for better off roading and faster take-offs. :burnout:

Thanks

either the heads pr just the cqm can be swapped

TrashWagon's motor has a carb block and spfi heads(no emissions taps at exhaust ports), and i use the carb cams, i think.

anyway, i have a ccarb atop spfi heads, eliminated a lot of emissions ccrap, got a cherrybomb, straight pipe,2 1/2 inch, and an spfi y pipe. runs like a scalded dog.

as far as rebuilding goes, theave teh bottom ent intact, and just do the seals. if you have it apart, you might as well do the head gaskets, for good measure.

reopace the cam, oil pump seals, water pump gasket, and do new belts.

you could leave the plastic covers off completely, if you anticipate future timing belt changes(is like i do mine, no reliability issues that way)

that way all you will need to do is take off the alt/ps belts to cange a t-belt, rather than the whole front end of the motor!

as far as time goes, myself and Tomrhere, did a turbo motor, tore it out of the car, apart, new complete eals and gasket set, put it back together, and got it running and driving that night.