Ultimate Subaru Message Board

So I have a neighbor with a SOHC 2.2 95 legacy he wanted to do a timing belt and since I have been a mechanic at Dodge for 10 years so I did not think it was a big deal I set the crank at TDC and the arrows on the cam sprockets wer up at the 12 o'clock position. Everything I read said that the notches on the cams are the timing marks and you line them up with the timing cover.So, I marked the belt before I took it off as I always do but curious about why I read 20 articles that say these are not the timing marks and the car did run a little rough I thought I would try to match up the lines on the new t belt witht the notches. I wouldn't start and would kick back. Then I put the timing belt on with the marks that I made and it ran about the same as it did before.I left it this way as the neighbor was ok with it but I still think it runs a little rough. But what the heck do I align the marks with?? thearrows almost line up with the timing cover notches however, not once did I read that those are the timing marks. Any Ideas??

i'm not sure i understand completely, but, the arrows are not the timing marks on the cams or the crank. there are posts you can search for with "endwrench" articles the will have pictures and write ups.

if you use the correct marks and place them at 12 oclock, it will be right. if you use marks on the belt which have the wrong tooth count if will end up wrong. something's off, redo the belt.

i don't know why subaru has the arrows on the sprockets since i have never heard of someone using them to rebuild or repair an engine, but i only know what i read here.

welcome to the world of subaru.

endwrench articles on timing belts

Edited by johnceggleston