Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Finally found an older Subaru forum! New here from Snohomish, WA

Hi guys,

I'm new to the whole Subaru scene. I recently picked up an '86 GL wagon 4WD 5 spd Carb'd for $750. I've been doing some research and reading up on these cars but could not find a forum that was mostly dedicated to the older Subaru's. Glad I came across this site.

Here's what I have:

glwago.jpg

subarup.jpg

1986 SUbaru GL wagon Carb 5 spd with 257K on the odometer( not sure how long these motors last) Runs well just wish it had some more power.

There's a few oil leaks looking like it's coming from the valve cover. And a small coolant leak coming from a hose up top. The temp needle recently started to climb up to 3/4. Read that it could possibly be a clog in the radiator.

Went to the Arlington Pull A Part and picked up an OEM rack to slap on my Thule Box, and some fog lights.

Everything is in working order, power windows, mirrors, wipers, EXCEPT for the fan speed switch.

What are some things I should do to make sure this thing is going to be reliable to take me up to the pass this snowboarding season?

I'm looking forward to meeting some local Subaru owners!

Edited by 86WAGO

well hello there. one thing go make it more reliable is to baby it. IMO :grin: These cars can take you anywhere. Just keep the essentials in mind and that's about it. They can take a beating that's for sure. there are people on here that have probably done anything and everything that could possibly be done to a 'roo. if you have a question try the search function, more than likely it has been covered before. (or try Google and put "site:ultimatesubaru.org " before your search and it'll search this site specifically.) If not, try starting a new thread in the older subaru forum

-Justin

*throwing a wave from Denver*