Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Troubleshooting 99 Legacy "AT Oil Temp" Code 76

I'm a car noob, but have been learning a bunch about them in the past month. I'm a computer engineer, so I like to mess around with things, and have done so since I was little. Anyway, I have a 1999 Legacy Brighton SE. It has a 4EAT and right now has a constantly flashing "AT Oil Temp" Light, that came on randomly on the highway. I've left it parked since then. Whenever I turn the car on, it starts flashing again and never stops. I noticed while driving it home, it seems to go straight from 1st to 3rd gear, and never go into 4th/overdrive. Besides that, everything feels fine.

I did the magic handshake to get the code off (found here: http://www.subaruoutback.org/forums/99-do-yourself-illustrated-guides/44383-199-2004-how-read-diagnostic-trouble-codes-dtcs.html), and it's a code 76, which means " 2-4 brake duty solenoid. Detects open or shorted output signal circuit."

dr5t06.jpg

I pulled off the air intake duct/chamber, and unplugged the transmission control unit's plug, and did some quick tests based of the factory service manual.

Here are the two things of interest from the fsm:

2s77zhg.gif

30hngh1.gif

One thing I noticed was that there are 3 pins missing on the male end of the plug. 2 are listed as not connected in the FSM, but the other is listed as the "Torque Converter Turbine Speed Sensor". There is not even a wire running to that spot, so I can only assume my model does not have one.

331m8na.jpg

Edit: Removed most of my incorrect troubleshooting. Would just confuse people in the future