Ultimate Subaru Message Board

'89 GL problem

Okay...It all started with coolant disappearing and no puddles. I got a couple head gaskets and went about changing them. The drivers side head was cracked. I got a reman. head and installed it. Assembled everything and it would not start. Checked the timing belts and they were off slightly. Fixed that, and now it starts, but it seems as though the timing may be off still. I put the #1 cyl. at TDC and the dist. rotor points to the #1 wire. I plug in the test harnesses by the firewall, and try and check timing and I don't see the timing marks. It idles okay, and will rev semi okay, but put it in drive and it runs worse. I am by no means a Subaru expert, I've had it since Spring, and it's my daily beater, I mean driver. My Chiltons(no I don't like them, it just came with the car) is not much help.

Any suggestions?

Timing is still off. Could be one tooth off at the dizzy. They are tricky to get on the right tooth. I'd restab the dizzy.

To aid in seeing your 20 degree BTDC mark on your flywheel take some chalk and mark the 20degree line. I used a white crayon. Really shows up good under that strobe light. Also helps if you paint a little on that arrow on the bellhousing.... if you have eyes as bad as mine atleast :)

Timing is still off. Could be one tooth off at the dizzy. They are tricky to get on the right tooth. I'd restab the dizzy.

To aid in seeing your 20 degree BTDC mark on your flywheel take some chalk and mark the 20degree line. I used a white crayon. Really shows up good under that strobe light. Also helps if you paint a little on that arrow on the bellhousing.... if you have eyes as bad as mine atleast :)

The 20* BTDC is currently marked in white, but it must be off enough that I don't see any timing marks. I could have sworn that the belts were dead on. What's the easiest/most reliable way of doing this?