Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hey y'all,

Newbie here with a question. Please help!

Here's the problem. My '98 Outback wagon has mysteriously developed water on the driver's side floor under the floormat. I think I'd remember spilling something, so that's out. I live in California and we've had intermittent rain. My first thought (after searching here) was to check the drains behind the mudflaps. We cleaned them out and set a heater in the car to dry out the carpet. Swell, I think. All fixed!

Not quite. It rained yesterday, and low and behold, wet carpet under the floormat again. It's only on the driver's side, and it's at the very base of the slope that begins the forward firewall. I don't think that's the lowest point but it could be.

Anyway, what the heck? Leaky window seal? Leak from the clean air intake? Clogged drain of some other kind? Argh! Any advice on how to check where it's coming in from?

Thanks in advance!

Gena

There are drain holes right in front of the windshield on both passenger and driver sides. Open the hood look in the corner (there's a small depression) and remove all the leaf and other debris that is likely clogging the hole and allowing overflow into the air intake. If this doesn't solve the problem then start considering a broken or separated drain line that comes down from the sunroof (if the car has a sunroof). I think the line Tees up with another drain line and it becomes disconnected. Use the "Search" function on this site as others have dealt with this problem recently... no need to reinvent the wheel.

Hey y'all,

Newbie here with a question. Please help!