Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Question on effects of changes to SPFI...

I haven't played much with the SPFI, and so I'm curious what experiences people have had with disconnecting the Evap purge, and EGR systems. I'll leave the solenoids in place for the computer....

I have done this plenty of times on carbed engines with no effect, but there's also no software interface there. Does anyone know or has anyone experienced strange behaviour from the computer if the pre-determined amount of exhuast gas is not present? Does it run too lean from the extra oxygen present in the intake charge? Or will the rest of the system (MAF, 02, etc) compensate by telling the computer it needs more fuel? Am I making this way to complex? I'm a software engineer, and I would break into the silly thing's ROM if I thought I would be able to do anything with it. Sadly I don't want to risk wrecking the only computer I have at the moment... (but it's tempting to think about trying - just to save out the fuel maps for later mega-squirt use).

I also want to turn the IAC valve upside down so the solenoid is on the right side - this will help to clear the disty on the EA81 - any problem with that other than it's hose routing? I took it off, and it doesn't seem to be oreintation dependant as far as I can tell....

GD

I'm not asking how to reset the computer, I'm asking if the computer is hard coded to expect exhaust gas or not. And I need to know if turning the IAC upside down will affect it - doesn't seem to be oreintation dependant, but then I'm not totally familair with it's theory of operation either - I don't have an EA82 FSM.

GD

I think you'll find some disagreement on this, but I don't think you will notice anything at all if you just plug off the EGR valve. I haven't noticed any difference after about a year with mine blocked.

Had the purge disconnected for a while, also didn't notice any difference in power or gas mileage.