Ultimate Subaru Message Board

NOOB to the board, but not Subies(edit, pics added)

Hiya y'al I'm Paul from East Tennessee.

I just bought a '97 Legacy LSi wagon today (pics tomorrow when it's daylight) It's nothing to write home about, just your basic top line Leg, well, short of the OB. It's a 114k MI EJ25 with a 4spd auto (4EAT?), Leather, CD, Moonroof, & all power acc. Being new to the EJ series, are there any weak points I can/ should address? I've owned a few EA series cars (all XT's) & I know that Subarus are for the most part bulletproof.

Thanks to y'all & to http://www.xt6.net, for reccommending ya. I'm lookin forward to years of companionship with both my new acquisition, & y'all

I can't promise it's a 2.5, but the tag on the fender says EJ25. I'll snap a pic or two of the engine while I'm takin 'em tomorrow.

I'm a NOOB to the EJ series engines so I gotta go by the tags LOL

Also, th LSi is only on the hatch, it MAY have been replaced... I dunno, but hey I usually end up with "oddball" cars. That may explain my love of Subies. Had an early '87 XT turbo w/late 87 bumpers! (talk about an orphan! that thing didn't interchange electronically, with ANYTHING!)

sounds like a nice car. as you stated earlier, if it has DOHC then it's a 2.5L.

your biggest concern for 2.5, 97 - 98, would be the 'head gasket'. use the search feature and you'll have enough to read till the superbowl starts. if the coolant over flow bottle is clean oyu should be ok, that's the first place to look. someone recently suggested that any overheat maybe the precursor to the head gasket problem. a new radiator cap couldn't hurt.

the only other concern is 'torque bind'. this is when the AWD locks in 4WD and in binds up when making tight turns. again search and read.

i fixed the torque bind in my 97 OBW. so far (110k miles), i haven't had the HG problem. can you hear me knocking on wood?