Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Cruise Control retrofit

How hard is it to put the factory stuff for cruise control in a vehicle that doesn't already have it? And what all parts are necessary to swap over?

I'm looking at putting cruise in my 89, 5spd, 4WD, SPFI. Audiovox sells an aftermarket kit for around $100, and I may go that route if the OEM stuff is difficult.

I think this might have to be your call...I just finished looking at the installation manual and personally when comparing it a set-up on a subaru were I could take pictures and immediately take one part off at a time and install that part onto the next car, for me would be the way to go...but since I have never done this before I would think that the hardest part of the job would be attaching the wires etc onto the new signal arm running under the dash(I hate bending over and turning my neck anotheer 180deg)..also haveing some spare parts wouldn't hurt either

There is a unit under the hood of some sort (totally ignorant on terminology here, sorry), the switches of course, and I believe an electronic control module under the dash. The VSS on the two vehicles must be the same type; if memory serves, the digidash and analog VSSs are slightly different? and you need to use cruise from an analog car if youre putting it on an analog car? I am uncertain, but I have been keeping my eyes open regarding this stuff because ultimately I want to get another soob to take all of my GL-10 bits off an retrofit onto, including the factory cruise.

For the record, there ARE kits for less than a hundred bucks.. but i do not know anything about how well they work. My uncle has owned and installed several different types of systems; I will ask him roundabout how much he paid vs. the quality of what he has.

I will be following this thread with interest.

I've noticed two types of cruise control units while cruising junkyards.