Ultimate Subaru Message Board

My 79 Brat build

Kevint143

Hey everyone so i figured I would start a build thread for my BRAT. I Picked it up at the end of Oct. and have been using it as a daily driver. Pretty excited to have picked this one up after reading all the hard work one of the former owners put into the rust repair. So first off if Waldoz reads this thanks for all of that!

Disclaimer: This is my first time ever working on my own car and I am learning everything as I go. I picked up a couple of repair manuals a tool set and am ready to go so even the most minor repair is some what of a big deal to me!

So far I have just been fixing things as they break or wear out. When I picked the car up it ran but needed a little bit of attention. First I flushed all of the fluids and after doing that I could already notice an improvement. For example the trans fluid was so gunked up it looked like mud and not fluid. After that I discovered the tranny mounts were broken so I had to replace those. Doing that was not as big of a deal as I thought it would be. My next venture was trying to track down a replacement window regulator for the driver side door. I am not sure what happened but the one in the car just seized up and would not budge. After searching the interwebs I had no luck locating one but I did come across the phone number and tip to check out Johns Subaru about 45 mins from portland and so I gave him a call told him what I was looking for and he had me come over and pulled the regulator out of a wrecked 78/79 brat. After getting that fixed I am beyond happy that I can roll my window up all the way especially in the NW winter time.

Some other things I have done was tuned the carb, changed spark plugs & fan belt, got the aftermarket tach that a previous owner installed working properly, the a/c blower, windshield wiper and lights kept cutting out so I had to investigate that and it turned out it was jut a bad ground in the wiring.