Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Moving from tires forward?

First let me say - YES I'm a Subie Noob and no I don't own a Subie yet...... So sorry if this question is really stupid.

Just from what I've seen, it looks like the firewall is the main issue on fitting large tires. Is that true? Is it possible to move the front tires forward on a Subie to gain Firewall clearance so you can clear larger tires easier and with less lift?

For instance on my 4Runner the front axle is moved 3 1/2" forward and I tubbed the firewall 2" this give me the ablility to run 36" tires on 15 x10 rims and 2" BS rims for only 4" of lift for that LOW WIDE stance.....

My guess is to this question is no..... but after thinking about it some more I would have to say that anything is possible. Would it require fabbing up new strut towers same a couple inches forward of the stock location? and then possible relocating the radiator and moving the engine forward?

Anyways its, just something I wanted to ask about since I don't own one yet to look the idea over..... BTW I like to try to think outside the box.....

Like you said, anything is possible. And if you're already doing major mutations like a frame, big lift or whatever...go for it. I've been figuring on moving the front end forward I ever get to build another car, but for now my whole life is on hold so it's all just a daydream. My plan was to basically hack off the front unibody and build a tubular structure off of the frame from the firewall forward. In my plan the unibody car would end up mounted to a frame basically like the cab of a Yota truck.

Well see I got some 30x9.50 BFG MT (actually 7 of them) that might be perfect for a Subie. right now they measure 28.5" tall but I want to make sure I have enough clearance when I'm at full flex I can steer from lock to lock without the tire hitting anything. So I'm just thinking about stuff.....