Ultimate Subaru Message Board

New to Subaru: Interested in a Forrester

Hi all,

I'm new to the Subaru world and am thinking of getting a Forrester. I've been looking around here and have seen many people talk about the head gasket problems in the 2.5 L phase 1 engines. It seems that they have remedied this problem in the phase 2 engines (when did the phase 2 first come out?). My question is if I consider a used Forrester, which years should I avoid/buy (of the newer models)?

Thanks for your help.

The 98 Forester has the Phase I 2.5L. The 99 and up have the Phase II.

99 to 2002 (?) engines are getting the "goop" and extended warranty. Nothing was done by Subaru regarding the Phase I engine (head in sand syndrome).

There are other things that I'm sure other will bring up (eg wheel bearings). If you want the first generation Forester, try to get the newest you can afford (up to 2002). The 2003+ seems to be pretty good. Top crash ratings, etc. I don't think I've heard of many issues with them, but, they are only a couple of years old at most.

Commuter

Only the 1998 Forester (one "r") has the phase 1 DOHC 2.5L engine. The 99- has the SOHC engine.

There was some significant improvements in the 99 model over the 98's with regards to structural integrity and crash performance.

I'm not 100% sure, but I think there were cosmetic changes in the 2001 model year, with different bumpers and changes to available colours and different wheels. We only looked at 2001 and later models and "S" or "Limited" trim. I wanted the limited slip diff, heated seats etc. and CD changer.