Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Will any Impreza Suspension/Brake parts fit my 88 GL 4WD Hatch?

Hello all-

Sorry if this is a noob question, but I'm still learning. I was just wondering if there were any Impreza parts out there (or parts from other models for that matter) that I could bolt up to my 88 GL hatch to upgrade it. I know that with other manufacturers you can pick and choose better parts from other year or model cars and make such upgrades (like swapping to 5-lug hubs, swapping out springs or shocks, or even changing over to disk brakes) and I'm wondering if any such goodness could be in store for my little GL. Looking to improve handling and braking, mostly, though finding some power or new seats might be nice too. :)

Thanks in advance for the info.

- Freed

Actually I have close to the same question. I have an 88 GL 4wd Hatch and want to know if any rear axle parts from a 90 impreza sedan AWD will be interchangeable. My rear left bearings went out and most of the left axle needs to be replaced. Not sure on on the terminology concerning Subarus but everything from the hub to almost the drive shaft needs replacing.

If you what to do a 5 bolt conversion, you'll need to ge a tranny with a 25 spline stub axle (ie and turbo tranny), then you can only use front suspension parts, the knuckle, strut, axle, tie rod end, ball joint, and all the brake stuff, but now you won't have an e-brake. Nothing in the rear will work.

Dragonlee, I'd like to see that 90 Impreza, it is rare, considering that Subaru didn't make an Impreza until 1993.

So, were there any disc brake or 5-lug cars that I can pull 100% compatible parts from? (Like a disc brake Loyale or something like that?) I was hoping that when I do the brakes for the car, I could just buy the parts for a 5-lug and/or disc brake setup and upgrade at the same time.