Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Ej swap here we go a wiring

Yo'J

I'm a carpenter not a car brain surgeon! This has got me cunfuzzed as all hell. I cant for the life of me find a guage cluster diagram for my 87 brat or any ea81. It might help.:rolleyes: I've got a haynes with a 82/83 whole car diagram, no pinouts or connectors, just wire colors. I got a chiltons with the 86 brat and hatch ecm diagram no pinout just colors too and thats it for the chiltons, nada. Battery isn't in the car yet so I don't go test it with my tongue.

90 Leg 22 is in, power steering is in, 5sp d/r is in, surge tank is in. Lots to finish up.

Column is out, cluster is out. I got my harness cut down (like last year, I'd be farther along but work tied up my garage with a full load all summer, Thanks again Shawn W .)

I got a few wires unmarked and nothing is taped up, just like it came out of the box, with out the SMJ.

One wire question is, is it ok to run the ej fuel pump wire from the ej relay to the old fuel pump relay and keep those existing wires to power both pumps?

Now where does the black wire from the ignition relay go? I lost the tag on it.

Don't I keep the old starter wire?

ok Ej power looks like this, help me out here...I'm guessing and without the right diagram.

1)constant, run and crank power - wire from ignition

2) pin11 b56 ground if ca model

3)pin 20 b48 ground if manual

4) tach - connect to fpcu - yellow wire

5)radiator 17 f47 using the stock radiator and wiring leaves no need to wire it?

6)temp ? cluster

7)oil ? cluster

8)cel - Gds spfi swap shows 1st pin on round connector is the ground and the bulb should be wire-able next to it

9)starter- 10 b56 should be wired to crank power

10)neutral 10 b58 to new switch mounted to top of clutch petal. Is this to ground after?

11)vss 11 B58 - reed switch on cluster pics according to GDs spfi swap yellow for the vss and black to ground