Ultimate Subaru Message Board

92 fuel injection problem

I've got a question regarding my 92 Loyale wagon with TBI. Although I've been a diesel mechanic most of my life, I don't have a comprehensive understanding on the fuel injection system used on my Subaru - and don't really want to make a research project out it. Just recently, when its cold out - like below 10 degrees F, the car won't fast-idle at start up and also is not driveable until it gets warmed up. Acts just like a carbed vehicle would when the choke stops working. I know that Chevy uses a cold-start valve and temp. sensor for this function but I don't know about Subaru and do not have a decent service manual. I looked up replacement parts at NAPA and Advance Auto, and don't see any service parts available for the Subaru injecton system that seem relevant. Any input appreciated.

sounds like the ecu is reading that the engine is warm when infact its cold.

that would point to a failure for the ecu's engine temp sensor...but that may not be the case. Go thru the engine bay, and clean a use di-electric grease on any and all connectors you come across and clean...that has fixed many a problems on these cars.

I don't really have a solid understanding of it either.

Mine developed a weird starting problem - where it wouldn't start. Turn over ---- but not start. I tried everything. All ignition components were good. Like plugs and plug wires and dist. cap and rotor.

I got so fed up with it, and tired of the car parked on the side of the road, I threw out the whole engine and put a whole other engine with its EFI stuff!!!! Easier than troubleshoting the son of a b1tch for 3 weeks.

It will forever remain a mystery why it didn't work.

JD since you

"don't really want to make a research project out it"

The FI system in your car is NOT like the one in the General Junker.

There is no cold start injector to go bad.