Ultimate Subaru Message Board

SHE RUNS!! But Funky Turbo...

Finally got the turbowagon running after putting in a new HG and fighting with a broken intake manifold bolt, new exhaust (cheers to Vanislru) and a few other fixes...

She runs great, pulls great, wobbles a bit (needs new tires), but I did notice that when the turbo is boosting in mid-throttle, it surges a bit. No prob when the turbo isn't boosting, and when I'm hard on the gas she's fine and pulls hard, but it's that mid-throttle area that has me wondering what's up. I'm new to turbo's, so I'm not too sure what it might be and what to look for.

cheers

She runs great, pulls great, wobbles a bit (needs new tires), but I did notice that when the turbo is boosting in mid-throttle, it surges a bit. No prob when the turbo isn't boosting, and when I'm hard on the gas she's fine and pulls hard, but it's that mid-throttle area that has me wondering what's up. I'm new to turbo's, so I'm not too sure what it might be and what to look for.

cheers

I'm thinking that you are just feeling the transition from off turbo to turbo spooling up to full boost.

I'm sure it's not a transition form no-boost to boost.

It happens after the turbo light comes on (boosting) if I'm not really heavy into the gas - sorta half throttleish - the light stays on so it is still boosting, but it bucks really mildly. Nothing too harsh, and I'm not too worried about it, but it is noticeable. It's sorta like the boost is doing an on/off thing but it's quite light.

That's the best I can describe it...

I'm happy too Bushbasher - it turns out that manifold you gave me has totally different electrical connectors (different years I guess), so I had to work the broken bolt out after all. Still got the manifold if you want it back:drunk:

Ideas???...

so im not the only one with a broken manifold bolt. i gotta drill it out. or so it seems.

Yeah, good times:banghead: