Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hello all,

Just so you are familiar, ive been doing a SOHC 2.5 swap into my 97 impreza L Sounds cool right....yeah that is if you dont get the wrong wiring harness and find out after youve spliced it in etc etc.

Needless to say ive been fighting this for 8 months now. My current issue i ran into was that i was getting very odd spark or no spark on the coil. Tested absolutely everything and came to the conclusion that the timing had to be off or the sensor was dead. Got a new timing belt and put the bad boy on. Now the engine turns over find but doesnt fire (there used to be a cough ever 3 or 4 cranks)

I am going to try swapping sensors to see if that works. but im concerned that if it made a diffrence to do the timing that i have a bent valve or 16. My buddy mentioned a leakdown test of some sort. How would i be able to tell i have a bent valve without taking the whole blasted thing out and taking the heads off?

Thanks for any info

Cory:horse:<- this is the best emoticon ever

Hello all,

Just so you are familiar, ive been doing a SOHC 2.5 swap into my 97 impreza L Sounds cool right....yeah that is if you dont get the wrong wiring harness and find out after youve spliced it in etc etc.

Needless to say ive been fighting this for 8 months now. My current issue i ran into was that i was getting very odd spark or no spark on the coil. Tested absolutely everything and came to the conclusion that the timing had to be off or the sensor was dead. Got a new timing belt and put the bad boy on. Now the engine turns over find but doesnt fire (there used to be a cough ever 3 or 4 cranks)

I am going to try swapping sensors to see if that works. but im concerned that if it made a diffrence to do the timing that i have a bent valve or 16. My buddy mentioned a leakdown test of some sort. How would i be able to tell i have a bent valve without taking the whole blasted thing out and taking the heads off?

Thanks for any info