Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Pay recommendations?

burton302

Hello all!

I am new member so I hope this is the right forum for this topic. I am a subaru dealer non-union mechanic. I will be training an apprentice next month. I have never been in that kind of situation and neither has my dealership. Management is looking for my input on how I should be compensated. Are any of you familiar with this and if so what should I ask for/expect? Thanks.

you mean training a union apprentice? or just someone your company hired?

Generally unions in my area are required to have X amount of journeyman per apprentice at a location. If the union wants to use you to train an apprentice, i would at least ask for base union journeyman wage or higher.

I used the word "apprentice" loosely. I work in a non-union shop. This person was originally hired as an hourly lube tech who is now a flat-rate mechanic in training. One idea I have heard were that I would be paid a percentage of the work that he would turn out. I have no idea what that percentage should be or even if that is a good or bad plan. I am not sure what average salaries are in down state Illinois, however I think that I am one of the higher paid techs at my dealership at $19/hour.

Figure out how much he will slow you down and complicate your work and ask to be compensated for that plus a bit more as incentive to even take on this additional responsibility and risk.

That's how I would pitch it and how I would ask to be compensated. If he slows you down by 25% then ask for an additional 25% of your hourly rate for every job completed as well as a base hourly rate increase commensurate with your new responsibilities and possibly a new title that also reflects your status in the shop.

GD