Ultimate Subaru Message Board

97' Impreza Outback A/C blows hot air

Well after 15 years I finally have a problem with my A/C. I've done a multitude of different repairs on this car over the years but one thing i have little experience with is A/C.

From what I've read it's likely a leak and the culprit more often than not are the O-rings on the compressor. I could start there but was hoping someone could give me a stepwise diagnosis procedure for getting to the bottom of this.

I do own a set of gauges, bought them new about 6 years ago and have never taken them out of the box.

thanks for any help!

Well normally I think what people do is put some dye in the system, then you use a blacklight to pinpoint the leak source. Subaru has mixed feelings on using dye in their a/c though. If you suspect an o-ring, you can get an o-ring kit pretty cheaply and just do them all, it's not that difficult. At this age it's not a bad idea to put in a new drier too, especially since now it probably has air in the system. A good vacuum at warm temps is best before recharging to boil off moisture.

Sometimes it just pays to bite the bullet and take it to a shop. the cost of refrigerant to refill the system fomr an autoparts store, it may just be cheaper for a shop to do it. A good shop recycles the refrigerant and tops it off as opposed to using those little cans.

• 3 weeks later...

OK. Found the leak (o-ring at compressor), replaced both rings there. Now for next steps I have some questions:

1. Do I change the receiver now or vacuum down with old receiver for leak check?

2. How long should I vacuum down and to what level?

3. Once I achieve appropriate vacuum. Is some drop the vacuum level OK so long as it maintains "vacuum" or should it stay pegged?