Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Project Cheap:Build Lifted 86' GL Sedan Advice + Build

DrKrazy

Okay so my newly aquired 86' GL Sedan, D/R 5pd, Carb'd EA82 has become what my wife and I are calling "Project Cheap". Our goal is to get this thing totally legal (currently has an Oregan title that has been signed twice, but never switched to colorado title, and has been sitting for 3 years out here blah!), moderate 4" AA lift, 15" wheels & tires, and totally reliable & ready for 4wheeling for under $1500 total. Going to be hard but will manage with some major freebies from my friend at GroundControl4x4.com. With gas prices so high my Chevy truck is just too expensive to take camping/4-wheeling anymore. So this will not only be a thread for all you experts out there since I'm totally new to the lifted Roo world, but will also track my progress and pricing. So let's start:

The day I bought it for $100, 161k miles threw a battery and a missing spark plug in and drove 2 blocks home.

front.jpg

Replaced all the cooling hoses (free, all were in the trunk brand new), Replaced fuel filter (again in the trunk). Did a full oil change & tune up (roughly $50, mostly carb cleaner lol). Got a different Y-pipe for $30 (thanks XSNRG) to fix the major leaks that it had. Also add a Grille for $15, corner light out of my stash, RX hubcabs out of my stash, and of course a major inside cleaning. Ends up looking alot better, running a ton better, still idles rough, but only have 50 miles on it..and some bad gas that still needs to get run out/diluted more & more.

2ndupdate.jpg2nd2.jpg

Now I have a 4" moderate lift on order from AA...about $330-$350

Need to figure out if it's in the budget to get hubs drilled for 6 lug, or just drill out some chevy rims for 4 lug...Advice??

Need to do a couple CV's and rear disc conversion, there's a few hundred dollars..