Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA82 carb swap

this artical mentions the hitachi equipped on nissans pre 73 (if i read it right) what model carb do we have considering our cars were made a decade later would we not already have a better carb then the one mentioned. (if i misunderstood let me know, i'm still learning bout all this)

I'm sure anything could be made to work with enough effort, but why not just put on the stock fuel injection from a loyale and call it good?

I suspect the mount is different between the two types of Hitachi's - as it is between the two types for the EA series. Probably would need to make an adaptor plate, and if you are going that route, then just get the pre-made adaptor from Redline for the DGV, DFV series, and put on a Holley/Weber 5200 off an 80's ford (DFV series licensed by Holley). That will have all the "emmissions" stuff you refer to, which really only amounts to the passive evap systems - float vent solenoid, and idle cut solenoid. Personally I don't count that as "emmissions", but maybe that's just me. As far as I'm concerened, unless you are talking about the feedback carbs with the computer, the carb has little if nothing to do with the emmissions systems on early subaru's. They are pretty much standalone systems that will work with any carb given they are connected properly.

The Hitachi's (all of them) are overly complex carbs, and the vacuum secondary is not fun to drive after you are used to a mechanical on the Weber, or the very large throttle body of the SPFI - both have a ton more low end grunt than the Hitachi's do.

GD

Maybe I am reading wrong but I read it that the DCH340 is a later version than the DAF328 that is on my 86 wagon. I thought I also read somewhere that it would bolt right on to. That it has the same mounting. The only thing I thought might be a problem was the jet size. Time for more research I guess. Thanks for the replies.