Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Leftover engine and transmission anyone?

I am (slowly) working on restoring my 1983 Subaru Brat. It must have lived in Nevada or Utah most of it's life because it has very little rust, but mechanically it was in pretty bad shape. I've replaced the carburetor with a Weber, and that fixed up the engine (which amazingly seems to have been recently rebuilt). It came with an automatic (3EAT) transmission and I honestly couldn't tell if there was something wrong with it or else it was supposed to work that way. I mean it was driveable, but I wouldn't exactly say that it operated smoothly. And there was a worrisome jerk and thunk when the electric single range 4WD engaged. So I located a donor car, put a standard 4 speed dual range manual transmission in it, and now it runs and drives pretty good. I'm not a mechanic at all, and one of the reasons I love these cars is that they are simple enough even I can work on them. This forum helped a lot to.

Anyway, the 81 station wagon donor car was pretty destroyed before I got to it other than the drive train, but I did get to salvage some parts. Now I'm wondering what to do with the parts I don't need, especially the engine out of the wagon and the original transmission out of the 83 Brat. Some parts I can sell on Ebay, but I really don't know what to do about the engine and transmission. Supposedly the engine was owned by an actual mechanic, well maintained, and was driven right up until it blew a CV joint, and then they pickled the engine and parked under a tree for 15 years. I would like to get a little money out of them, but eventually I'll have to haul them to the dump or something. Does anybody have any better ideas? I currently have them up on craigslist. If anybody is interested delivering them or at least meeting up part way might be possible.

https://oklahomacity.craigslist.org/pts/d/oklahoma-city-subaru-3eat-automatic/7191256593.html