Ultimate Subaru Message Board

New here...would appreciate some input regarding 99 Outback

Hi Folks...I'm new to this message board and have been doing lots of reading on the older Outbacks with the HG issues. I'm currently looking a purchasing a 99 Outback (manual transmission). It has 209 000KM on it and just had the HG replaced and has all receipts to show the work done. It has been RUST CHECKED since new and is in great shape. It drives very nicely (no rattles or knocking from suspension). The asking price is $6900 CAN. I'm a bit nervous about the whole HG issue...but since it has just been replaced...should this still be something I should be concerned about? I'm not sure if its a Phase I or Phase II engine. Could I expect to get another 5 yrs or so out of this car?Thanks in advance for your time and input!

Mark

If it's been done dont worry about it (I would however pop the radiator cap and let it run and check for bubbles). Next I would take the car and drive it in figure 8's and make sure the AWD is functioning properly. Make sure all the tires match.

nipper

in general, sounds like a good car at a decent price.

but, i would drive it thoroughly and put some miles/time on it and keep your eye on the temperature gauge to look for any HG issues. i would also look at the receipt of all the work done and see what kind of headgasket they used. these are Subaru only HG repairs in my oppinion for this engine, Subaru has an updated headgasket for this application. if it's not a Subaru gasket i would be far more skeptical about it. the reason i stress looking into this is that why would someone pay all that money and turn around and sell the vehicle? it's not that big of a deal and i've seen a few for sale like this, most likely people just get scared and want to dump them in favor of something newer.