Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Trans guts in another Case

Naked Buell

So I acquired a 4-11 5 speed and I have the older transmission case to put the guts in. Now I have never even cracked a case before and needed some advice from my Subie brothers. How hard is it and does the back lash and all that need to be adjusted too? I am clueless about this and any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

I'm no expert...but here's what I did.

Taking the case apart is not too difficult. Just make sure you keep track of where the bolts and brackets came from. Only hard part is the shift linkage, you'll have to remove the access panel on the top of the center diff case, and there's a set bolt in the piece that activates the switches for neutral and reverse, this will allow more travel in the shift rod which will allow you to seperate it from the front case halves.

I just pulled the internals out of one case, and dropped them in the other. I made no adjustments, to anything. I just made sure the shims followed the gearset.

Just make sure you get it sealed up good, and keep an eye on it. Mine leaked dry.....which ruined it....

Personally I have stepped away from almost all RTV products. I find that in almost all cases there are better and cleaner options. From many perspectives - application, cleanup, dissasembly, and shelf-life. RTV products lose in every catagory to the anaerobic flange sealants. The only advantage they have is they are cheap. But a caulk gun sized cartridge of the anaerobic will last years (infinite shelf life) and is only about $40:

http://www.amazon.com/Permatex-51580-Anaerobic-Sealant-Cartridge/dp/B000HBGLVY

GD

• 2 weeks later...

the only major problem with it is the fact that getting the stuff back apart after it has been right stuffed. can be a major chore. ha ha

Yeah, an experience like that is what gave me the idea to re-glue all of my Black rubber door gaurds back on my EA82 wagon. (85, 86 only....they went back to clips for 87+)