Ultimate Subaru Message Board

High output coils

Have rebuilt ea81. Rebuilt distributer with module. I have the following questions

1/  Will the installation of a higher output coil (I have a master blaster 2 max 45,000 volts up from 32,000) cause any adverse effect on the module in the dizzy?

2/ What spark plug gap would you use with the higher output coil? Currently using .034" I have 9.5:1 CR reasonably high.  Using platinum plugs at the moment

3/ What are the obvious signs of a damaged or worn module? Is there a way of testing it?

I've ordered a new module and will use my current one as a spare.

4/ What are owners results in using a high output coil re: economy and power improvements

Thanks

IMG_0062-1.jpg

1/ Will the installation of a higher output coil (I have a master blaster 2 max 45,000 volts up from 32,000) cause any adverse effect on the module in the dizzy?

Im not real sure about what you boys have down there, but it looks like you have the Hitachi with the module under the cap? I kinda think this thing might be a sorta copy of the HEI. This is probably the strongest of the units Subaru used for our cars. The resistance values on that coil will likely be lower than the stock unit. So in theory you are pushing it. I bet youde be fine if the values on the coil arent too much lower.

post-16651-0-00956700-1433333922_thumb.jpg

2/ What spark plug gap would you use with the higher output coil? Currently using .034" I have 9.5:1 CR reasonably high. Using platinum plugs at the moment

IMO stock ignition on these is more than adequate for what you need. Ide gap them at .043-.045. They arent real hard to change if you dont like the results.

3/ What are the obvious signs of a damaged or worn module? Is there a way of testing it?

Solid state devices dont exactly get damaged or wear out. They usually just die or burn out. Ive never seen one of these types go bad.

4/ What are owners results in using a high output coil re: economy and power improvements