Ultimate Subaru Message Board

What to get

newsoobdude

Sorry, I'm a noob here and to Subarus, but I was wondering about the BEST year of all the Brats. I have access to six (yes 6) Brats of various years and conditions and other body styles as well. My plans are an EJ swap, 6 inch Lift and playing in the snow. I'd eventually like to do a bigger (8 inch) lift and put the 720 'case under it, but that is when I have more $$$$. What things should I look at when picking (besides having a manual tranny) out one besides rust? Any help or input would be greatly appreciated. Also, where do I find replacement parts for the suspension/ drivetrain besides a junkyard? And last, has anyone ever lowered or know where to get a kit to lower an 80's/ early 90's Sube?

welcome to the Club.

if you are looking for an offroad truck. go with the 1982-1987 gen 2 style brats. they are much much easier to mod, get parts for, and are more durable. they also have the d/r tranny with better gearing than the earlier models. they are also alot easier to swap a ej22 into.

82-87 brats are generally identical. the only things that are noticably different are the grills, and interiors.

things to look out for? basically like you said RUST!! and previous wreck damage. clutch, axles, maybe interior condition. tailgates and doors are a pain to find.

everything else is a breeze to fix, most parts can be bought from your local auto parts store, or junk yard. the engine and tranny are easy (usually cheap) to replace. axles are notorious to go bad. oil leaks and engine ticking is normal.

lowering, well, that'd be up to you. kits are available for lifting, but i`ve never seen lowering kits besides the old coil locks:grin: you can also cut a few coils off your old springs and crank down the rear torsion bar.

if you buy a brat, would you mind taking pics of the other 5 and letting us know where they are so they can all be saved?

take care,

Jon