Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA82t upgrades

I am new to the subaru family and I am the new owner of a rather well known RX coupe. I am looking to improve performance.

I was thinking about adding an intercooler and recirculation valve. Will this be a worth while modification?

An intercooler is always advised on these engines. There are some things you can do, but a lot of them have more to do with making the engine more reliable rather than netting more power. They are 115 HP stock, and without a lot of modifications and loss of what little reliability they already have, you aren't going to push much more than about 140 HP. The absolute outside limit of the engine seems to be around 175 HP but that's with a ton of mods and isn't particularly reliable.

Compare those numbers to that of the EJ family - the non-turbo EJ22 puts out 135 or 145 depending on the year, and the EJ22 Turbo is 165 bone stock - closer to 200 with a top mount IC and turbo-back exhaust.

The money to make an EA82T more powerful is better spent installing an EJ engine - you will get the power you want without any mods, and you will get a high degree of reliability - even higher than the EA82T was without any mods at all.

GD

I wouldn't mind doing an ej18 and use the stock EA82 turbo but the class this car runs in requires the original engine code IE.. if it was an EA82 it has to stay an EA82. I think 130 hp will be enough to run top 20 if I can tune the driver up.

I will add a top mount. I have an old celica top mount and a Mazda recirc valve. I don't plan to get nuts with this but bumping boost up to 10psi is not out of the question.

10 :lol: go 12 you will save gas

it gets up & goes without putting it to the floor:headbang:

but look at this post it will fill you in a Lil bit more

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/showthread.php?t=27730

Edited by AWD TURBO!

I am new to the subaru family and I am the new owner of a rather well known RX coupe. I am looking to improve performance.