Ultimate Subaru Message Board

2003 engine and what I have learned

Hello all, I guess I can start this discussion on the engine that I get to work on, but first a bit about me.

I am a mechanic, but all this spark stuff is out of my comfort zone since I am a diesel head. I spent 15 years as a John Deere construction mechanic and I have the painful pleasure of owning and working on my two VW TDIs.

So what am I doing with a Subaru? I am now working for a company that has a custom engine in a Subaru. It is a 2.5, 2.5 litre 2003 Legacy. It's a 2.5, 2.5L because it has one dead hole and low compression on another hole, therefore it's only 2.5 cylinders...

<crickets>

So I have been doing a bit of studying and thanks to the locals I am pretty sure that after 245,000 miles of no valve adjustment (My guess) the #4 exhaust valve is burnt.

I have learned that I will want to pull the engine for the repair, mounted on a stand.

I have learned that this engine is a 2.5L Phase II, SOHC that could have the possible potential of maybe leaking coolant externally.

I have learned that I will want to send the head to a compatent head shop, I'm not sure if they put them under grow lights, or what, so I'll find a good, local machine shop instead.

I have learned that I will want to replace the timing belt SYSTEM. This will include the belt, water pump, seals, tensioner roller, other rollers (But I'm not sure which ones) and check the tensioner.

I have learned about the timing marks and which ones to pay attention to and which to ignore.

I have learned that there are some other things on the engine that I will want to pay attention to while it is out such as the oil pump cover bolts and a plastic piece under the flexplate as well as a couple other things I have in a PM from JohnCEgg.

I have learned that if I can get to Portlandia, I should stop in and see Rick and give him some love for all the help he has provided.