Ultimate Subaru Message Board

ea82 oil pump pulley nut

Ok, so this is my second ea82 equipped soobie.  This on is an 87 sedan.  The mickey mouse gasket as gone bad and is leaking a bit.  For the life of me I cant get the nut off that holds the pulley on.  How are people getting it off?  I still have the timing belt on, and under torque it is just hopping teeth on the belt.  This is making me crazy.  I make a living working on helicopters and this single nut has me pulling my hair out.

If you're trying to take the oil pump off to replace the micky mouse gasket, there are notches in the edge of the pully to allow a 10mm socket to get on the bolts. They may be covered up by the timing belt, remove it.

If you want to replace the pump seal on the shaft then use a strap wrench to hold the pully while you loosen the nut.

And quit beatting up on yourself, I'm a retired mechanic (heavy equipment) and every machine is differant. Subi's are in a differant class all by themselves.

Ed

Make sure the tensioner is tight on the belt as it shouldn't skip. You would only have to remove this if you are changing the shaft seal. There are undersize seals for worn shafts, so measure it if you do, but otherwise leave it alone if it looks good.

Otherwise, you can remove the whole pump, and take the pump to the bench and clamp it doen ain a vise with a rag or blocks of wood to protect the rotor, and take it off that way.

You can take the cam seal reatiners off the motor and to the bench to change the seals if you want to since the belts are off anyway.

I'm just a plain idiot.  I thought there were only four bolts holding the pump itself on... plus the pulley nut.  Well after 3 hours I realized that there is a 5th bolt on the top that I hadn't seen.  So ya...