Ultimate Subaru Message Board

LOYALE Engine Codes 24 and 34: Air Control, EGR

Hi there,

I've read a few threads already but I want to get some things straight because I'm not a mechanic.

I have a 92' Loyale Wagon, SPFI, 5spd manual, 130k Original Km's (80k miles). 

Codes show 24 and 34. (http://www.troublecodes.net/subaru/)

24 Air control valve or circuit 34 EGR solenoid or circuit

The car starts every time, Idles a bit high on cold start (but only owned it since the beginning of winter so not sure how it idles normal in warmer temps), seems like it struggles at about 110+ km/h (70mph) but I understand it's not a fast car. No funny sounds coming from engine.

Based on my web knowledge about vacuum leaks it doesn't seem to be a vacuum leak. So it must be these valves/solenoid?

Reading a bit more stuff I found out the Air control Valve and EGR Valve can build up carbon deposits.

My question is:

If I replace just the Air Control Valve and the EGR solenoid will that clear the codes? 

For the Air Control Valve code - Will carbon build up in the throttle body or in ACV trigger the check engine code?

For the EGR code - Will a dysfunctional/clogged EGR valve trigger the CEL or is it just the solenoid?

I understand if I replace the valves and give it a little TLC, its probably good for the long run.

But want to get your guys input and solutions for more confidence and less frustration when the doing job

A lot of the threads tend to go into more technical stuff or are just very basic and old so I decided to start a new thread.

Thanks for reading

Randolph. 

99% of the egr code is the solenoid coil is failed open. There is a link to my solenoid swap page somewhere on another code 34 thread.

I have never experienced drivability issues caused by code 34. It only indicates the coil of the solenoid, nothing more.

The idle air control valve effects idle. Once the throttle is open, it has little effect.

• 1 month later...