Ultimate Subaru Message Board

More torque from my ea81T

Hello Everyone :)

I have an ea81T in an 1982 Leone rally car. The car has enough power above 3500 rpm but when below it is shocking!!!!

This causes problems in confidence for me when throwing the car into a side in 4th or 5th gear.

Currently the engine has forged pistons, intercooler, oil cooler, fuel injection, 120psi fuel pump, 3" straight exhaust, new plugs, new leads, BOV, Cold air intake, 6000 rpm rev limiter(controllable).

Current problems are loose tappets (spelling???), possibly too much fuel at low revs???, exhaust leaks, standard leone turbo running 14-18psi, No idea how to tune engine???, gearbox and rear diff i need on replacement.

Anyone with any comments to help with low down torgue please let me know!!!

Also I'm unsure if the cam is standard or how to test it. Without knowing the cam how can I set the tappet clearances?

I'm not a mechanic so use everyday language cheers :)

The tappets (called lifters by most here) are hydraulic and do not need adjustment.

You could go with a smaller turbo that spools at a lower RPM. But Turbo engines are not designed to run at low RPM's. It takes getting used to, but that's how you have to drive it. 3500 or higher if you want the power.....

Is this engine original? What country are you in? We didn't get EA81T's here in 82... and when we did get them it was with Automatic tranny's....

5th gear?? Is this an EA82 4WD tranny, or a 2WD car?

GD