Ultimate Subaru Message Board

So after an in-depth discussion in another thread a few weeks back about 0w20 weight oil in the new FB engines. I did some more research about the 0w16 weight oil I brought up in that discussion.

The 0w16 weight oil is here in the USDM for select few 18' MY Toyota's (It was used as early as 14' in JDM on select Honda's)

The OE manufacturer for this factory filled oil is Eneos and from my research one (if not the only) company currently making 0w16 (at least here in the US)

This new weight oil is supposed to provided up to 2% better fuel economy (over 0w20)

My reason for posting this isn't to discuss if it's good or bad for engine. I'm just a automotive technician, not an engineer or engine builder. So my experience is from following what the manufactures state.

Toyota's are using this new oil, and Honda's already were in JDM. Not that I believe Subaru's are any time soon, with their recent change to 0w20 and added issues with oil consumption.

I just wanted to bring it to everyone's attention that there is indeed 0w16 oil here and from my managers last checking (earlier this week) you can not get it through NAPA, WorldPac etc. (We haven't checked Advanced Auto and the other as we don't deal with them)

We had to request it through our oil distributor, who then did some digging to find who he can get it from.

Here's a link to the Eneos 0w16 oil. You can read all of it's "benefits" and also, the test data such as Flash Point and different viscosity at given temperature.

http://www.eneos.us/products/eneos-fully-synthetic-motor-oil/eneos-0w-16/

post-50785-0-63482300-1509059777_thumb.jpg

2% isn't worth it. This is a (one of many) death spasm of the internal combustion engine for consumer level products. 

The death of the automotive service industry is nigh. Cars are headed toward appliance status. You don't call a TV repairman anymore..... within the next decade you won't call on me either.